A Tough Day

The interwebs are all aflutter today with talk of the elementary school shooting in Newtown, Connecticut. There’s nothing I can say that will make this event less horrifying or help the families affected by this tragedy cope with what has happened to them, so I won’t spend this post trying to make sense of it. Instead, I’ll just say that I am so thankful to be sitting in my office feeling my little girl have her little party in my belly, knowing that right this minute, she’s completely safe.

This day was tough in more ways, though – all of them extremely minor in comparison.  The semester is officially over (for me). Grades were completed yesterday and I posted them online yesterday afternoon. I always give my students 24 hours to come talk to me before I post final grades. By the time I’m done with this post, it will be time to submit grades to the registrar. A few students visited me today. None was thrilled with his/her individual performance, but each expressed that displeasure differently. I’m happy to say that only one of those meetings was….more difficult that in had to be.

Finally, I woke up at 4:15 this morning. I’ve been waking up between 4 adn 4:30 pretty much every morning, always feeling like it’s got to be at least 6:30 and time to get up. Normally I’m happy to see I still have a couple hours to sleep and drift back off. Not today.  I toughed it out in bed for a little while and finally gave up and went to the living room. And there I lay – on the couch, wide awake – for 2 more hours. Finally, around 6:30…just when my alarm was starting to go off – I managed to dose for a couple minutes here and there. I pushed the start of my morning back to 7:30 and only breakfast suffered. But man, what I wouldn’t give to go back to bed right now.

We’ve been a little short on adventures lately. Adventure Guy came down with a cold just as I recovered from strep, and we’re waiting on some boots for Trail Dog so we can take her up in the snow without freezing her feet. Now that classes are over, I think I’ll do a little post series on some past adventures we had before I started the blog, so stayed tuned for those.

This entry was posted in Baby!, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

